25 Years of the WRX

We found the best 25 Subaru WRXs in New Zealand and celebrated the 25th anniversary at Leadfoot Festival 2017! 

Of the 268 entries from all across the Country, 25 of the best were on display at this year's Leadfoot Festival to celebrate the iconic model's anniversary. The calibre of entries was high, with a great representation of models across the 25 years. If you missed it, check out the highlights here

Top 25

The combined public and judges votes have been tallied and the following WRX’s make up the Top 25. You can check them out in the flesh at the 2017 Leadfoot Festival alongside the Subaru tent, held on the stunning Coromandel Peninsula at Rod Millen’s iconic Leadfoot Ranch over Waitangi weekend.

View the full gallery

The judging panel

We have selected some of the finest who know a thing or two about cars to help judge the 25 best WRXs. Check out their credentials below, we think you’ll find them highly qualified.

Ben Hunt

2015 NZ National Rally Champion and Subaru of New Zealand Brand Ambassador 

To say Ben Hunt is a WRX fan is an understatement. The Auckland-based heavy diesel mechanic currently drives a WRX STi in the New Zealand Rally Championship and has owned four other WRXs previously. His childhood heroes were Subaru rally champions Colin McRae, Possum Bourne and Richard Burns.

Rod Millen

Motorsport legend,  Leadfoot Ranch owner and Leadfoot Festival founder

Rod Millen is a Kiwi motorsport legend. The hill-climbing superstar together with his wife Shelly, founded the Coromandel-based Leadfoot Festival on their ultimate driveway. A champion in both New Zealand and the US, Rod still holds certain records at Pikes Peak, also known as the ‘Race to the Clouds’ and ’Millen’s Mountain’.

Wallis Dumper

Subaru of New Zealand Managing Director

Subaru of New Zealand’s Managing Director Wallis Dumper doesn’t just talk the talk, he’s walked the walk. Wallis has spent his life in and around cars and motorcycles, winning the 1982 Manfeild Endurance race on a production motorcycle, worked as a technical race engineer, was President of the Motor Industry Association and was a Director of Rally NZ.